Skip to main content

Tests and Software

This is a listing of all the tests and software that is currently available through SILC. Click on the link to navigate to the independent page for each resource which includes information about the test such as the appropriate population, where you can access the resource, and references relevant to the resource.

CategoryTest NameTest Webpage
Force & MotionnnHedgehog Gamehttps://sites.northwestern.edu/silc/hedgehog-game/
Mental BendingnnNon-Rigid Bending Testhttps://sites.northwestern.edu/silc/1802-2/
Mental (De)FragmentationMental Brittle Transformation Testhttps://sites.northwestern.edu/silc/mental-brittle-transformation-test/
Metal FoldingMental Folding Test for Children (MFTC)https://sites.northwestern.edu/silc/mental-folding-test-for-children-mftc/
Mental Slicing & Penetrative ThinkingCross-sectioning for Childrenhttps://sites.northwestern.edu/silc/cross-sectioning-for-children/
Mental Slicing & Penetrative ThinkingCrystal Slicing Testhttps://sites.northwestern.edu/silc/crystal-slicing-test/
Mental Slicing & Penetrative ThinkingGeologic Block Cross- Sectioning Testhttps://sites.northwestern.edu/silc/geologic-block-cross-sectioning-test/
Mental RotationtAnimal Mental Rotationhttps://sites.northwestern.edu/silc/animal-mental-rotation/
Mental RotationChildrenu2019s Mental Transformation Task (CMTT)https://sites.northwestern.edu/silc/childrens-mental-transformation-task-cmtt/
Mental RotationGhost Puzzlehttps://sites.northwestern.edu/silc/ghost-puzzle/
Mental Rotation Stereochemistry Task https://sites.northwestern.edu/silc/stereochemistry-task/
Mental RotationTouch Screen Puzzle https://sites.northwestern.edu/silc/touch-screen-puzzle/
NavigationVirtual SILC Test of Navigation (SILCton)https://sites.northwestern.edu/silc/virtual-silc-test-of-navigation-silcton/
Perspective TakingPerspective Taking for Children (PIT-C)https://sites.northwestern.edu/silc/perspective-taking-for-children-pit-c/
ScalingSpatial Scaling Test (SST)https://sites.northwestern.edu/silc/spatial-scaling-test-sst/
Spatial AssemblyTest of Spatial Ability (TOSA)https://sites.northwestern.edu/silc/test-of-spatial-ability-tosa/
Spatial Education SoftwareCogSketchhttps://sites.northwestern.edu/silc/cogsketch/
Spatial Education SoftwareLaboratory of Artificial Intelligence for Design (Lai4D) Designer Laboratory of Artificial Intelligence for Design (Lai4D)u00a0Designeru00a0
Spatial LanguageSpatial Language Coding Manualhttps://sites.northwestern.edu/silc/spatial-language-coding-manual/
2D to 3D TranslationDiagrammatic Representations Test (DRT)https://sites.northwestern.edu/silc/diagrammatic-representations-test-drt/
Understanding Topographic MapstTopographic Map Assessment (TMA)https://sites.northwestern.edu/silc/topographic-map-assessment-tma/
Spatial LanguageGeometry Playground Spatial Language Coding Manualhttps://sites.northwestern.edu/silc/geometry-playground-spatial-language-coding-manual/
Mental RotationLibrary of Shepard and Metzler-type Mental Rotation Stimulihttps://sites.northwestern.edu/silc/library-of-shepard-and-metzler-type-mental-rotation-stimuli/
Mental RotationMental Rotation Stimuli (Giorgio Ganis)https://sites.northwestern.edu/silc/mental-rotation-stimuli-giorgio-ganis/
Memory Object-Location Memory Task https://sites.northwestern.edu/silc/object-location-memory-task/
Spatial OrientationObject Perspective/Spatial Orientation Test https://sites.northwestern.edu/silc/object-perspective-spatial-orientation-test/
Spatial Visualization Revised Purdue Spatial Visualization Test (Revised PSVT:R): Visualization of Rotationshttps://sites.northwestern.edu/silc/revised-purdue-spatial-visualization-test-revised-psvtr-visualization-of-rotations/
Cross SectioningSanta Barbara Solids Test (Inferring cross sections of 3D objects)https://sites.northwestern.edu/silc/santa-barbara-solids-test-inferring-cross-sections-of-3d-objects-2/
Spatial Reasoning Spatial Reasoning Instrumenthttps://sites.northwestern.edu/silc/spatial-reasoning-instrument/
Spatial ReferenceSpatial Reference Frame Proclivity Testhttps://sites.northwestern.edu/silc/spatial-reference-frame-proclivity-test/
Mental RotationThurstone Primary Mental Abilities (Mental Rotation Task)https://sites.northwestern.edu/silc/thurstone-primary-mental-abilities-mental-rotation-task/
Mental RotationVandenberg & Kuse Mental Rotation Test (Redrawn version)https://sites.northwestern.edu/silc/vandenberg-kuse-mental-rotation-test-redrawn-version/
Spatial VisualizationVisualization Assessment and Training (VIZ)https://sites.northwestern.edu/silc/visualization-assessment-and-training-viz/
Spatial VisualizationVisualization of Views Testhttps://sites.northwestern.edu/silc/visualization-of-views-test/